What We Do

Banner (c) Bank of Uganda


Prof. Emmanuel TUMUSIIME-MUTEBILE  served as Governor and Chairman of the Board of Directors of the Bank of Uganda from 2001 till the time of his death in 2022. A seasoned professional economist and reformer, he spearheaded the design and implementation of the Economic Reform Program that restored Uganda from the economic crises of the 1970s and 1980s. 

What We Do

The Bank of Uganda conducts all its activities with the aim of fulfing its Mission.  These activities are carried out under the mandate of the Bank of Uganda Act, 2000 and other legislature.

The Bank's core activities are:

  • Issuance of Uganda's national currency/legal tender, the Uganda Shilling (UGX) 
  • Regulation of money supply through  Monetary Policy 
  • Banker to the Government of Uganda 
  • Banker to Commercial Banks
  • Supervision and regulation of Financial Institutions
  • Management of the country's external/foreign reserves
  • Management of Uganda's external debt
  • Adviser of  Government on financial and economic issues

The Bank  also has  responsibility to the public and this is  fulfilled through its Corporate Social  Responsibility programs.