Supervision Acts

BOU has the mandate to supervise and regulate the operations of financial institutions in the country.

These include Commercial Banks, Credit Institutions, Micro Finance Deposit-Taking Institutions (MDIs), and Forex Bureaux.

A number of acts and regulations govern this mandate and the supervision of financial institutions.

Acts & Regulations

2000: Bank of Uganda Act

2004: Financial Institutions Act

2003: Micro Deposit Taking Institutions Act

2004: Foreign Exchange Act

2005: Financial Institutions Licensing Regulations

2005: Financial Institutions Credit Reference Regulations

2004: Microfinance Deposit Taking Institutions Regulations

2006: Foreign Exchange (Forex Bureaux and Money Remitters) Regulations

2010: Financial Institutions (Revision of Minimum Capital Requirements) Instrument

2011: Financial Consumer Protection Guidelines

2013: The Financial Institutions (Foreign Exchange Business) (Amendment) Rules, 2013

2016: Financial Institutions (Amendment) Act, 2016

Tier 4 Micro finance Institutions & Money Lenders Act, 2016                                    
The National Payments Systems Act 2020

Framework for the identification of Domestic Systemically important Banks (DSIBs)

The National Payment Systems (Agents) Regulations, 2021

The National Payment Systems (Sandbox) Regulations, 2021
The National Payment Systems Oversight Framework - June 2021
National Payment Systems Regulations, 2021