Payment systems refer to the rules, procedures, and mechanisms for transferring money between two or more financial institutions and their customers.

Acts & Regulations

Supervision Acts & Regulations

BOU has the mandate to supervise and regulate the operations of financial institutions in the country.

These include Commercial Banks, Credit Institutions, Micro Finance Deposit-Taking Institutions (MDIs), and Forex Bureaux.

A number of acts and regulations govern this mandate and the supervision of financial institutions.

BOU Acts

1. BOU Act, 1969;

2. BOU Act, 2000;

Supervision Acts

1. FI Act, 2004;  Fin Amendment Act 2016

2. MDI Act, 2003;

Supervision Regulations

1. FI Anti Money Laundering Act, 2013;

2. FI Anti Money Laundering Regulations, 2010;

3. FI Capital Adequacy Regulations, 2005;

4. FI Consolidated, 2010;

5. FI Corporate Governance Regulations, 2005;

6. FI Credit Classification Regulations, 2005;

7. FI Credit Concentration Exposure Limits, 2005;

8. FI Credit Reference Regulations, 2005;

9. FI External Auditors, 2010;

10. FI Foreign Exchange, 2010;

11. FI Insider Lending Limits, 2005;

12. FI License Regulations, 2005;

13. FI Liquidity Regulations, 2005;

14. FI Ownership Control Regulations, 2005;

15. FX Act, 2004;

16. The National Payments Systems Act 2020

Other Acts and Regulations

1. FX Regulations, 2006;

2. MDI Regulations, 2004;

3. Intervention Policy, 1997;

4. Mobile Money Guideline 2013;

5. External Auditor Appointment Guidelines for Forex Bureaus 2016;

6. Guidelines for the licensing and operation of Forex Bureaus and Money Remmittance companies, 2018

7. Financial Institutions(Islamic Banking) Regulations 2018

8. Financial Institutions (Deposit Protection Fund) Regulations, 2019 

9. The Financial Institutions Capital Buffers and Leverage Ratio Regulation

10. Framework for the identification of Domestic Systemically important Banks (DSIBs)

11. The National Payment Systems (Agents) Regulations, 2021

12. The National Payment Systems (Sandbox) Regulations, 2021

13. The National Payment Systems Oversight Framework - June 2021

More About Bank of Uganda

The Bank of Uganda (BoU) is the Central Bank of the Republic of Uganda. It was opened on the 15th  August 1966. It is 100% owned by the Government of Uganda but it is not a government Department

The Bank of Uganda conducts all its activities with the aim of Fulfilling its Mission.  These activities are carried out under the mandate of the Bank of Uganda Act, 2000 and other legislature.

According to Article 161 of the Constitution of the Republic of Uganda, the authority of the Bank of Uganda shall vest in a Board which shall consist of a Governor, a Deputy Governor and not more than five other members.