Acts & Regulations

Supervised Financial Institutions

The Bank of Uganda supervises Banks and some non Bank institutions in the country.These include:


Other Financial Institutions in Uganda which are not supervised by the Bank of Uganda:

  • Insurance Companies
  • Insurance Brokers
  • Leasing Companies
  • Development Banks

List of pre-qualified External Auditors


More About Bank of Uganda

The Bank of Uganda (BoU) is the Central Bank of the Republic of Uganda. It was opened on the 15th  August 1966. It is 100% owned by the Government of Uganda but it is not a government Department

The Bank of Uganda conducts all its activities with the aim of Fulfilling its Mission.  These activities are carried out under the mandate of the Bank of Uganda Act, 2000 and other legislature.

According to Article 161 of the Constitution of the Republic of Uganda, the authority of the Bank of Uganda shall vest in a Board which shall consist of a Governor, a Deputy Governor and not more than five other members.